Welcome to the Family Echo Q&A forum. In order to ask or answer questions, please ensure you sign in at Family Echo first.
Welcome to Family Echo Q&A, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.

In order to ask or answer questions, please ensure you sign in at Family Echo first.

Before asking a question, please check the Frequently Asked Questions page.

Why is the history showing only the founders name?

0 votes
140 views
Hi,

I recently got a link from my cousin to edit/insert the branches of my side of our family tree, but every time I change something it says “You” in the history as if I was the founder.
At the top it even says “This tree was created on [date] by You” and “1 Person has edited this family tree: You”, but below the family name it says “Founded by [name of cousin]” and when I click on “back to me” it goes to my cousin.

How can I stop making changes in his name? I already tried sharing the link again to myself, but with the same problems…

I'm looking forward to an answer! :)
asked Dec 27, 2022 by Jonas_Knuspi (190 points)

1 Answer

+1 vote
 
Best answer
Have your cousin click on you in the tree and invite "you" to share the family. I think he sent you the wrong link.
answered Dec 30, 2022 by lsommerer (47,390 points)
selected Dec 30, 2022 by Jonas_Knuspi
EDIT: I just fixed it, but I don't really know how. I only did similar things I tried before and after clicking on a correct link, the family in my account got replaced with "Family 3" (or some other preset name) where I'm not the founder. Thanks for helping! :)

I also assumed that it has to do something with the link, but I was there when he shared the family with me, and he definitely clicked on my bubble in the tree to e-mail me the link. That's why I tried sharing the link again to myself and to different e-mail addresses, and I tried removing the family from my account and joining again via the link, but always with the same outcome. I don't know what else I could try.
I'm afraid I have to create a new account to fix this…
...