Welcome to the Family Echo Q&A forum. In order to ask or answer questions, please ensure you sign in at Family Echo first.
Welcome to Family Echo Q&A, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.

In order to ask or answer questions, please ensure you sign in at Family Echo first.

Before asking a question, please check the Frequently Asked Questions page.

If I allow friends etc to view my tree and they add to it, does it also add it to my own tree?

0 votes
69 views asked Oct 3, 2023 by Pamsuzanne (1,780 points)

1 Answer

0 votes
Yes. If you give someone edit access to your tree, the two of you are editing the same tree. Note that you can not remove edit access, so backup your tree first.

You could have two seperate trees by exporting your GEDCOM file (note that photoes are not exported), importing it as a new tree, and sharing that tree with friends.
answered Oct 3, 2023 by lsommerer (43,230 points)
...