Welcome to the Family Echo Q&A forum. In order to ask or answer questions, please ensure you sign in at Family Echo first.
Welcome to Family Echo Q&A. In order to ask or answer questions, please ensure you sign in at Family Echo first.

Before asking a question, please check the Frequently Asked Questions page.
+1 vote
135 views
by IlzeSa01 (170 points)

1 Answer

0 votes

Do what you usually do to share the tree, but before you make a link at the top of the menu is the Permissions: dropdown menu, select the option View only located in the dropdown menu.

by Ilovekatz19 (6.9k points)
I tried this but the person I am sending can still edit.
Was this person by any chance previously sent an invite link with editing permissions, and add the tree to their account, did they?

Because if so you're going to need to have this person remove the tree from their account, then send them an invite with the new permissions.

The reason the tree being on the person's account prevents the new invite link from taking affect is because when the person open the link the site see that the person has access already and just opens the tree, same as if they just opened it wthout the link.
...